Serve #2

The opportunity to photograph Jessica came about when I went on a search to find organizations who had pro-bono photography needs.   Quickly my search led to The Phoenix Residence Inc. They were looking for photography for an upcoming brochure. I felt very moved to help create a set of images that they will be able to use to show what caring for fellow human beings looks like Phoenix Residence style. My contact at The Phoenix Residence. is Rachel K.  who I quickly learned had a heart for people as well and wanted to be able to create more awareness

I knew this opportunity was going to be #2 in my “Serve” series.

Serve #2

Serve #2

When Jessica (who works for the Phoenix Residence) said the words, “Everyone needs a friend.” and added, “I get to be Alice’s friend.” I was deeply moved.  Humanity is still good.  Sure we hear bad stuff from the media, but that is a mere slice of life out there.  I think we need to look at the whole of humanity and realize right in our backyards are people reaching out and making a difference in peoples lives.  People with the desire to “Serve”.

In closing, I put Jessica in the background a little bit, even slightly out of focus.  I did this to bring into focus the one who is being served, because she is the focus of Jessica’s “Serve”

Live for the Tomorrows!

Best wishes,

Shawn Nielsen
Mobile. 612.750.2593
Studio. 763.498.7375

nielsen-studios.com

Posted on March 2, 2015, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. I know you are on to something here. This is very moving and I look forward to more in this series.

  2. Very nice, Shawn. I miss our shoots!

  3. Janice Hurrle

    Dear Shawn,

    I do SO enjoy your writings, pictures and stories. I appreciate you taking time to send them to me this old fashioned e-mail way so I can look at them. You’re an amazing man with a wonderful Gift and I’m proud to have you as my brother.

    With Love, Your sister with her back to the wall  🙂

  4. nielsenstudios

    Thank you!

  5. I was moved. The look on Alice’s face conveys such joy, and the connection between them is so evident. You captured the essence of their relationship. Amazing work, as always.

Leave a Reply

