I’m Here (#1)

ImHere1_JuddW_007Final

This blog entry about Judd W. who served in the Airforce is the first in a series of five, but it may linger on as I hear the stories of people.  The idea is to photograph my subjects in a way that their face takes up much of the frame giving you the sense that you are seeing into the depth of who they are.  Maybe even getting a glimpse of what they have gone through.  My lighting will always be minimal, maybe just one or two lights.  There will be words on the photos that tell the story, and, occasionally, a bit of back story.  In the end, I want you to connect with the person, they have survived something, and I think that is a story worth telling. Don’t you?

About Shawn Nielsen

Commercial Photographer in the Minneapolis/St. Paul area. My studio is a building that I built on my 7.5 acre hobby farm and is wonderfully surrounded by country that is full of crops, trees, goats, etc.

Posted on January 24, 2014, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 6 Comments.

  1. Dina,

    Thank you! I enjoy the opportunities to share a glimpse of a person’s story.

  2. you are always able to tell a story with a photograph – so blessed to know you!

  3. Lisa,

    I am excited to see this series unfold. I think it will likely go more than 5 subjects.

  4. Thanks for the compliment. It was an honor to meet him.

  5. Shawn – what a wonderful tribute to a man who has served our country so well. You captured Judd so well!

  6. Shawn,

    Love this! Great idea, and very nice photography as usual!

Leave a Reply

