Delicate Ugliness

The name for these photos just hit me, as I photographed the warty little guy.  Being inches away from a living creature is quite amazing.  I had the opportunity to look deep into its eyes, touch its bumpy skin laden with earthen hues, and watch as it breathed in the air from my studio.  Few people pick up toads.  I understand why.  They are squishy, pudgy, moist, amphibious creatures that are not all that pretty at face value.  However, when I began  to look at how delicately they are made,  I actually began to see a bit of beauty.  I mean, not the kind of beauty that is gonna win a pageant, but beauty that halts you to marvel at the generous brown tones of its skin, and finally peer into the psychodelically patterned eyes.

About Shawn Nielsen

Commercial Photographer in the Minneapolis/St. Paul area. My studio is a building that I built on my 7.5 acre hobby farm and is wonderfully surrounded by country that is full of crops, trees, goats, etc.

Posted on July 25, 2011, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 5 Comments.

  1. Ugly, but beautiful, too.

  2. Nice toad! Really, you have a way with…well, anything!

  3. Theresa Whiteford

    Pretty amazing pics of a toad dude. Amazing how perfectly even toads are designed!!!

  4. Thanks! I try to make things look good. I had to employ a few tricks here though;-)

  5. Now I know it for a fact — you can make anyone look good.

    We have a fondness for “warty little guys” at our house. Thanks for the treat!

Leave a Reply

