A man named Maynard.

I was given the privilege to photograph a man named Maynard.  This man has such depth of character, and a passion for life.  Even though life has dealt him a blow or two through his many years living and working in the lands near Glencoe, Minnesota, he chooses to laugh hard, and love life.  You can see it in the images.  I could most certainly hear it in his voice as he spoke. You know, I could actually feel it in his strong, age-sculpted hands as he gracefully shook my hand as we parted.  It was indeed an honor to meet Maynard.  Needless to say, I walked away changed, contemplating life, and knowing that I need to resist the temptation to grumble about the gray hairs that keep finding their way to my head!;-)

Laugh, Live & Love today!

 

Shawn Nielsen

About Shawn Nielsen

Commercial Photographer in the Minneapolis/St. Paul area. My studio is a building that I built on my 7.5 acre hobby farm and is wonderfully surrounded by country that is full of crops, trees, goats, etc.

Posted on December 2, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 4 Comments.

  1. Jodi,

    Thank you for the compliments!

    Shawn Nielsen

  2. Oh…I love this stuff…seems as if I can’t get enough.I expected sound so I could hear him play…I bet he has tails to tell about back in the day.

    Lisa told me to check you out.You have recognized your gift,I have no doubt.You are offering a lift as you travel about.

    Keep on keepin’ on.

    Good eye.
    Jodi Sandberg

  3. I am excited to see what the final story reads like. Good Luck!

  4. Beautiful, Shawn. Clearly, we had similar reactions to this funny man. I keep thinking of things to send to him. Concertina music, for example. I’m researching…

Leave a Reply

