Guardians of the past…

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

This morning I pointed my vehicle towards Minneapolis.  My goal was to photograph statues in a couple of cemeteries.  As I drove through the quiet and cold gates I was captured by the elegance and thoughtful detail each sculpture possessed.  I pondered for a moment what these statues meant.  For me the words that came to my mind were; “Guardians of the past”.  These chiseled creations born from the hands of master sculptors weather the seasons and represent memories of a loved one no longer alive.  Figures both strong in substance and gentle in represented demeanor,  guard memories of the past and names of the future.

About Shawn Nielsen

Commercial Photographer in the Minneapolis/St. Paul area. My studio is a building that I built on my 7.5 acre hobby farm and is wonderfully surrounded by country that is full of crops, trees, goats, etc.

Posted on November 23, 2010, in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink. 3 Comments.

  1. Thanks Diane. That would be a good name for a book indeed.

  2. The black and white photography was perfect for photographing thise “Guardians of the past.” Hmmmm. . .that sounds like the title of book!

Leave a Reply

